Which X-Plane 10 add-ons should I get for my vanilla XP10?

skyhawk1254D

Which X-Plane 10 add-ons should I get for my vanilla XP10?

Post by skyhawk1254D »

Hi everyone,

This is my first post and I would like to thank Pilotedge for the great product!

I am new to X-Plane 10 and Pilotedge since last week.
I am a real world VFR ASEL pilot and have flown most of my hours in a C172SP with G1000.

So far I have not installed any plugins/addons to X-Plane 10 (besides Pilotedge of course, and the built-in support for ForeFlight on the iPad).
Which add-ons can you recommend to make Pilotedge with X-Plane 10 even better?

I am particularly interested in the following:
- a method to monitor ATIS frequency on radio #2 while talking to ATC on radio #1
- a scenery for the PEcoverage area (i like the autogen scenery, but I wish there were more landmarks and airport buildings - will osm2xp and opensceneryx help?)
- a way to change the callsign that is displayed on the dashboard / tail of the aircraft
- is there a better alternative to the C172 that came with X-Plane 10? I really like the A2A C172 for FSX.

Thank you
N1254D
Keith Smith

Re: Which X-Plane 10 add-ons should I get for my vanilla XP1

Post by Keith Smith »

Welcome to PilotEdge and to the world of X-Plane.

You can find a lot of scenery here linked from this thread: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=186

Regarding the ATIS, back when we only supported the COM1 radio, you could tune the ATIS on COM2 without issue. However, now that we support both radios (in the Windows build, the next Mac build will have it, too), we've lost the ability to monitor both radios at once. Just let ATC know that you need to go off frequency to get the ATIS, or use a separate solution for checking remote weather (such as ForeFlight). The runway information that's given by the ATIS may not match what we're actually using, so you truly only care about the weather at the field, which can be obtained from numerous other sources as you know.