newbie questions

newbie questions

Postby smocfi » Wed Sep 28, 2016 6:06 pm

Just got x-plane running, works great with PE. I have 3 iPads running the maps app, the six-pack display, and the radio stack. Questions: I can't zoom on the maps app, the +- buttons don't do anything. On the radio, if I select SMO tower in Com 1, I hear all kinds of towers and enroute talk, I thought the selected frequency would act like a real vhf.

Any help appreciated.

Will
smocfi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:45 pm

Re: newbie questions

Postby BFG » Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:05 pm

Controllers on PE typically man multiple frequencies - they have to, or there would be no way to staff the nearly 40 towered airports in the system. Because of how the network functions you can hear the controller speaking on multiple frequencies, but can only hear other pilots on your frequency. This is also not too dissimilar to how it works in the real world when a controller is talking to pilots on different transmitters.
BFG
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:39 pm

Re: newbie questions

Postby Kyle.Sanders » Thu Sep 29, 2016 3:14 am

Furthermore, for tower and below- there is a repeater type system in place to limit the amount of pilots calling and stepping over each other. Tower and below, the pilot initiates most of the communications rather than the controller.
Once you get to the radar controllers, then it is as BFG said.
Best Regards,
Kyle Sanders

Twitch Channel
Facebook Page

i7 6700k 4gHz
16GB RAM
GTX 970 4GB GPU
Windows 10 Home 64bit
X-plane 10 & 11 (always up to date/never beta)
Kyle.Sanders
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:13 pm

Re: newbie questions

Postby Kyle.Sanders » Thu Sep 29, 2016 3:16 am

What map app are you using?
Best Regards,
Kyle Sanders

Twitch Channel
Facebook Page

i7 6700k 4gHz
16GB RAM
GTX 970 4GB GPU
Windows 10 Home 64bit
X-plane 10 & 11 (always up to date/never beta)
Kyle.Sanders
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:13 pm

Re: newbie questions

Postby smocfi » Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:07 pm

I'm using remoteflight map HD. I can't find any documentation on their website. The map seems to work, I get the power-on green and the map shows my position, I just can't zoom in or out.
smocfi
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 5:45 pm

Re: newbie questions

Postby Kyle.Sanders » Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:58 am

According to this review- it is definitely zoomable. Might want to contact the developer for support.
http://www.avsim.com/index.php/_/reviews/remoteflight-–-flight-simulator-gauges-for-appl-r1141
Best Regards,
Kyle Sanders

Twitch Channel
Facebook Page

i7 6700k 4gHz
16GB RAM
GTX 970 4GB GPU
Windows 10 Home 64bit
X-plane 10 & 11 (always up to date/never beta)
Kyle.Sanders
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:13 pm


Return to X-Plane

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests