Viewing other nearby traffic

Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby MikeN87 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:09 pm

Maybe I'm wrong but I though if you are connected to pilotedge you could see nearby live traffic, or to see other logged on traffic.

I was parked on a ramp at a couple of busy airports with my radio tuned to ground and or tower, I heard calls being made for movement on the ground and takeoffs and landings but I was not able to see any traffic at all.

Do I have that wrong, or is there a way to see nearby traffic.

Thx
Mike
MikeN87
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:19 am

Re: Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby kevin meyers » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:03 am

Need more information. Which airport were you at? Which sim are you using?
Kevin Meyers
Retired PilotEdge Air Traffic Controller / Instructor
Dallas, Texas
kevin meyers
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:01 pm

Re: Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby zerofay32 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:43 am

Also, was any of the traffic on the radio actually at the same airport? All traffic on any Ground and Tower frequencies will be heard due to repeaters PE has set up to help prevent blocks/increase radio traffic.
Andrew Fay
PilotEdge I-11
Commercial Pilot/Instrument ASEL- KOSU / Commercial sUAS-DJI S900
PE Callsigns: C172-62266; PA28-6157J; DHC6-2612J; PA31-35834
ZLA Alphabet Challenge http://myflightroute.com/alpharesults.php?pilot=%284171%29
zerofay32
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Grove City, Ohio

Re: Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby MikeN87 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:15 am

I’ll have to listen a more closely the next time I’m on but I was almost sure they were at the airport I was viewing, San Luis KSBP. I heard the controller give taxi instruction to the active runway but the pilot requested a different runway that was also at that airport. As I looked at the taxi diagram, it made sense so I tried to look for a plane taxi to 25 but I didn’t see any planes n the field. I’m almost sure the planes I heard were in the San Luis area and on the San Luis freqs.

BTW. I am running X-Plane 11 on a Mac.
MikeN87
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 10:19 am

Re: Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby zerofay32 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:55 am

I'm not sure, but I think there is an "AI traffic" setting in X-plane that needs to be set to a number greater than 0 in order for PE to inject traffic into the sim. I believe most people just set it to 1.

Maybe check for this?
Andrew Fay
PilotEdge I-11
Commercial Pilot/Instrument ASEL- KOSU / Commercial sUAS-DJI S900
PE Callsigns: C172-62266; PA28-6157J; DHC6-2612J; PA31-35834
ZLA Alphabet Challenge http://myflightroute.com/alpharesults.php?pilot=%284171%29
zerofay32
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 8:34 am
Location: Grove City, Ohio

Re: Viewing other nearby traffic

Postby Keith Smith » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:30 pm

zerofay32 wrote:I'm not sure, but I think there is an "AI traffic" setting in X-plane that needs to be set to a number greater than 0 in order for PE to inject traffic into the sim. I believe most people just set it to 1.

Maybe check for this?


That's incorrect, the ability for PE to inject other objects into the sim isn't determined by that setting.

MOD note: moving this to the xplane forum since this is x-plane specific. Please use the most specific forum for these types of posts.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9578
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ


Return to X-Plane

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest