approach procedures

Paul

approach procedures

Post by Paul »

I'm new to pilotedge and x-plan and I was trying to pull up an instrument approach on the garmin 430 that comes with the basic 172 you get with x-plane.I pushed direct, dialed in my airport identifier, pushed enter ,then tried to pull up the procedures page to find an approach.I used an airport that has lots of approaches,but the procedures page was blank.Also the gps is a little small do you recommend buying a different instrument pannel.
scottcame

Re: approach procedures

Post by scottcame »

We had a thread on this topic a couple of weeks ago.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=758

After reviewing all of the various options, I've abandoned any hope of having current approaches in a realistic Garmin 430 in X-Plane. IMHO, each of the options has a significant flaw for an instrument student who wants to build proficiency with the 430. I guess I'll just practice everything else in the sim and save my GPS proficiency for my R/W aircraft.

The disappointing thing is, it puts a lot of the airports in SoCal out of reach under IMC if you can't do a GPS approach.

It is a glaring gap in the capabilities of X-Plane, in my view. Hopefully one of these days it will be corrected.
Scott Came
P/E: N118SC (C172) or N400SC (COL4)
R/W: Private Pilot, ASEL, KOLM (Olympia, Washington, USA)
Paul

Post by Paul »

Thanks for the thread. :)
Steven Winslow

Post by Steven Winslow »

Here's at least one option available as an add on. I've never used FTS software because I fly on a Mac. I've heard good reviews on this stuff, though.

http://www.flythissim.com/FTS430.aspx
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
scottcame

Post by scottcame »

According to my read of the (somewhat difficult-to-navigate) FTS documentation is that it will work on the Mac.