FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resolved)

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby Pieces » Sat Nov 01, 2014 5:18 am

Care to unpack
Calvin Waterbury wrote:FYI - I cannot use FSX as it will not run on this brand new laptop.
?

Poor performance? Crashing? Won't install?
Reece Heinlein, PPL - IR, KMZZ
PilotEdge I-11
Alphabet Challenge
Pieces
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: Marion, IN (KMZZ)

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby AlexL » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:24 am

Hi!

This is my first post on the PE forum. I'd also like to say that I'm having the same exact problem as Calvin and am also running FS2004 on a laptop. I do have FSX installed, but I would like to use some addons that I have running on FS2004 on PE. Here are my system specs:
OS: Windows 8.0
Computer: Lenovo IdeaPad Y500 Gaming Laptop
Processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM 2.40 GHz
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M
Memory: 16.0 GB
Joystick: Saitek X52 Flight Control System
Rudder: CH Products Pro Pedals
View Control: TrackIR 5

P.S. Keith, PilotEdge is awesome! I'm learning a lot about aviation and it's quite fun! Thanks for developing it.
Cheers,
Alex L.
PE Ratings: V-03 & I-04
FSEconomy: Alex85
Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/AlexsFlyingClub
Streams: http://www.twitch.tv/AlexsFlyingClub
Blog: http://AboveGroundLevel.org
AlexL
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:06 am

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby Calvin Waterbury » Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:12 pm

Pieces wrote:Care to unpack
Calvin Waterbury wrote:FYI - I cannot use FSX as it will not run on this brand new laptop.
?

Poor performance? Crashing? Won't install?


Hi Reece,

My point was FS9 is the only platform I can use on my laptop or I would have "unpacked." I will need some help with FSX later. Right now I am focusing on getting FS9 to play well with the PE client. Can you help me with that?

Frankly, I am persuaded *all* my issues stem from trying to use my flightsims on Windows 8.1. I am thinking of busting my piggy bank to get a Jetline system. At least I would have Win 7 again, but I still would like to get my present FS9 working on this Win 8 laptop.
Windows 8.1 (64)
ASUS 17" Laptop
2.4 GHz I7-4700HQ CPU
8 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M
1 TB HDD
Calvin Waterbury
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:37 am

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby Keith Smith » Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:43 am

I will test FS9 at my office with the new build to see if I can replicate. Hopefully it's something small if there is a core issue there.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9331
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby Calvin Waterbury » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:17 pm

Oops! I guess I jumped too soon. I reformatted my laptop and reinstalled FSX and PE client and was successfully able to connect to the Pilotedge network. I have not reinstalled FS9 yet, but if FSX keeps performing as well as it is now I probably won't. We'll see.
Thanks for the help.
Windows 8.1 (64)
ASUS 17" Laptop
2.4 GHz I7-4700HQ CPU
8 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M
1 TB HDD
Calvin Waterbury
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:37 am

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby AlexL » Thu Jan 29, 2015 9:55 am

If anyone is still having the problem with FS2004 when trying to connect to PE as mentioned in this thread (as I had until now) here is the solution that worked for me:

1). Uncheck "Run this program in compatibility mode" when right-clicking on the FS2004 icon in Windows 8.0 (under the compatibility tab)
2). Uncheck "autostart AIBridge" setting in the FSFDT Control Panel found in the icon tray (as described by Dan Everette in this post: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=419 )
3). Restart FS2004 and PE client and it should work

My computer specs are posted above in this thread. I hope this helps others who were having this problem!
Cheers,
Alex L.
PE Ratings: V-03 & I-04
FSEconomy: Alex85
Videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/AlexsFlyingClub
Streams: http://www.twitch.tv/AlexsFlyingClub
Blog: http://AboveGroundLevel.org
AlexL
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:06 am

Re: FS9 PE Client Brings up FSX PE Client (Stuck until resol

Postby Keith Smith » Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:56 am

Great find, Alex, I'd forgotten all about Dan's post. That explains it.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9331
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Previous

Return to FS2004

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest