AI drones and FSX

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Marcus Becker » Sat Nov 16, 2013 8:51 pm

Keith Smith wrote:That would only occur if the models don't have lights on them. The lighting setting for all drones is correct afaik. However, if you find specific drones where the lights aren't on for a phase of flight where they should be on, and you find other drones of the same aircraft type where the lights ARE on (ie, the lighting problem is specific to one of the drones), then let me know. Otherwise, it's an AI model issue where they haven't enabled lighting on that model.

You were correct Keith. Somehow, my Shockwave light set became corrupt and all of the aircraft that were using them didn't show lights. I reinstalled and I can see airplanes at night again. Thanks!
Image
Marcus Becker
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:12 pm

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Marcus Becker » Tue May 20, 2014 5:30 pm

The first field on each line is the FSX aircraft title, with spaces being replaced with + signs. The second field is the aircraft ICAO code. There are also additional fields to identify the airline and livery when they're applicable, but I'll leave them out for simplicity sake.

If you don't want to reply to this Keith, I won't hold it against you as I know you have better things to do. I'm curious as to the the extra fields to match airline liveries. I have seen an increase in users flying some bigger aircraft and wouldn't mind seeing them as they should be in regards to airlines. It isn't killing be as I am seeing the appropriate airplane at least.
Image
Marcus Becker
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:12 pm

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Keith Smith » Tue May 20, 2014 6:46 pm

Marcus,

Here's an excerpt from the vip.smx file showing airline and livery fields in action.
VIP_B744LOTR1 B744 ANZ LOTR1 ; Boeing 747-400, special LOTR
VIP_B744LOTR2 B744 ANZ LOTR2 ; Boeing 747-400, special LOTR
VIP_B763LOTR3 B763 ANZ LOTR3 ; Boeing 767-300, special LOTR
VIP_A320LOTR4 A320 ANZ LOTR4 ; Airbus Industrie A320, special LOTR
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9359
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Marcus Becker » Tue May 20, 2014 7:11 pm

Perfect. It worked like a charm! I assume the information after the ";" is not required and is just a description? Any idea about what field the LOTR1 field may be? I didn't use it in my descriptor so it must not be anything I really need.
Image
Marcus Becker
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:12 pm

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Keith Smith » Tue May 20, 2014 7:56 pm

Marcus, ANZ is the airline, LOTR1 is the livery. You asked about liveries, so that's why I pulled an example that not only had airline, but a specific livery within an airline.

If you don't need to distinguish individual liveries within a single airline, then yes, you can skip the livery code. The vip.smx file is full of examples of those.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9359
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Marcus Becker » Tue May 20, 2014 8:01 pm

Hmm... Isn't the livery displayed going to be determined by the title from the aircraft.cfg? Here's what I have input into my pe.smx
iFly+737-800+American B738 AAL
From what I see, it will look for B738 then a prefix (here it's AAL). If it's there it will the display the selected title. Am I missing something?
Image
Marcus Becker
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:12 pm

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby Keith Smith » Wed May 21, 2014 7:11 am

There are up to 3 ways to specify which model of aircraft should be loaded:
1) ICAO
2) Airline
3) Livery

They ultimately result in a specific aircraft title being loaded (you're right about that). However, it takes into account all 3 of those things when it picks which aircraft title to actually load. If you only need one American paint job, then specifying items 1 & 2 above is just fine. However, if you have 3 American paint jobs, then you need to utilize the Livery field in the system to determine which of the 3 to display for a given aircraft.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9359
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: AI drones and FSX

Postby kevinmdavis2010 » Wed Aug 22, 2018 8:21 am

Hello,
Here's my understanding of this post:
1. I need to go to the CFG file of the aircraft I want to add
2. Copy the name of the title from the aircraft's CFG file (i.e. PMDG 737-600NGX PMDG House)
3. Add plus signs instead of spaces along with the aircraft's ICAO (i.e. PMDG+737-600+PMDG+House B736)
4. Paste that text to the next line in the SMX file
5. Repeat steps one through four for every other aircraft I want to add
Am I on the right track here?
Regards,
Kevin Davis
kevinmdavis2010
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:40 am

Previous

Return to FSX

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest