I-3 Checkride Question

Questions and comments about the PE Pilot Training Program
SoCal_Pilot

I-3 Checkride Question

Post by SoCal_Pilot »

After 2 unsuccessful attempts at passing the I-3 checkride, I'm trying to figure out how to get it right.

Essentially SNA clearance tells me to fly heading 175 on departure from 19R at SNA. About 5 - 8 minutes into the flight (when I'm generally over the ocean), I'm asked to fly direct to SLI. I notice I'm typically on the 150 radial from SLI. Do I just turn right to track that radial inbound to SLI? Does it matter if it's a right turn or a left?

I'm a R/W VFR pilot so some of this IFR stuff muddles my head a bit.
-----------------------------------------------------
Charath Ram Ranganathan
CFII, AGI, IGI (Blog)
Azusa, CA
Keith Smith

Re: I-3 Checkride Question

Post by Keith Smith »

Which part of the ride is leading to the fail?

You won't get the direct instruction at the same time on each flight, so don't plan on a specific radial in advance. Instead, set the OBS so you have a centered 'to' reading on the CDI then track that course to the VOR.
Peter Grey

Post by Peter Grey »

I think I've been the controller who has been working your flight.

In both cases the failures were for similar reasons:

When cleared direct SLI you should turn directly to SLI whichever way is shorter. The first time you attempted the rating you turned directly away from SLI (make sure your CDI has a to flag not a from flag to prevent this). The second time you turned direct to SNA then direct to SLI once by the airport (you should not be intercepting a radial, just center the CDI instrument and follow the course it says).