IFR FLYING how to?

Questions and comments about the PE Pilot Training Program
toosox

IFR FLYING how to?

Post by toosox »

I need some advice. I have been flying VFR for several months now, but I would like to start learning how to fly IFR. I am currently using XPlane 9 with full weather actived. In the last few weeks, I have not had any adverse weather other than high winds.

Before I joined PE, I did not worry about flying through clouds or other weather systems. But when I did go through clouds, I still experienced disorientation, even though I was sitting in my living room looking at monitors.

Now, as to my current problem. How do I fly total IFR without seeing out the windows and falling back into VFR flight? My first test piece was an IFR circuit, but I was able to see the runway from several miles out and at that point no longer relied on the instruments. I cannot wear a hood, I cannot adjust my cabin view for just the instruments (clicking on them becomes difficult), and just fogging out the view does not help either. Disorientation becomes very hard to deal with. How do you get around the disorientation? I realize this is just a simulation and I can crash and survive, except for the embarassment from the controlers laughing at me. :oops: :D :D
FSEconomy as fun as it gets

Cessna 172 ( N2095k )
Keith Smith

Re: IFR FLYING how to?

Post by Keith Smith »

Have you tried setting the weather to minimums (or below minimums) for the approach? That way, you'll be in IMC until the last second, if not indefinitely.
toosox

Post by toosox »