Newbie question on ATC interaction

arb65912

Newbie question on ATC interaction

Post by arb65912 »

Hello,

I am a student pilot so please be patient with me. ;)

Let's say I was told to contact NorCal Departure on xxx.yy frequency.
I transmit :" N33A, xxx.yy, good day"

I switch to a new frequency and say:" NorCal Departure, Warrior 4333A"
Controller responds:" Warrior 33A, climb and maintain 5000'"

Now the question, when I read back " climb and maintain 5000'" to the controller, do I start the transmission with " NorCal Departure" or just read back :" climb and maintain 5000', Warrior 33A"?

Thank you.
Nick Adams

Re: Newbie question on ATC interaction

Post by Nick Adams »

i usually just say "climb and maintain 5k, Warrior 33A"

I don't think there is a need to say the controller unless you are initiating the transmission.
Nick Adams
CEO - X - US Airways Virtual Airlines http://x-usairways.com
Andrew Doubleday

Post by Andrew Doubleday »

If you're initiating the call, you should start with the facility name you are speaking with, who you are, and what you'd like to do in that order. If you're just responding to a control instruction, you do not need to re-address the facility in the response. Just readback the instruction followed by your callsign as stated above - that should suffice almost every time.'