Clearance Delivery under VFR

MXMiles

Clearance Delivery under VFR

Post by MXMiles »

I am currently a student pilot and the majority of my real world experience is at a non-towered airport. My question is what are the proper procedures for clearance delivery while flying VFR out of a towered airport. Should I contact clearance anytime I'm at a Class C or B airport prior to taxi? Or do I just go straight to the ground control frequency?
Keith Smith

Re: Clearance Delivery under VFR

Post by Keith Smith »

I've flown out of two bravos under VFR and have had interactions with Clearance Delivery on both occasions (after all, a clearance is required to operate in Bravo airspace).

Charlies seem to be where there's some variety. You're doing fine if you ask ground for the taxi and include your intentions (direction of flight, type of aircraft, etc) unless the ATIS specifically states that VFR aircraft should contact clearance delivery.

Don't sweat it too much. If the ATIS doesn't give any guidance, I'd start with Ground (at a Charlie). If they send you to delivery, note it for next time for that field and move on. No biggie.
MXMiles

Post by MXMiles »

Thanks for the quick response! This is one of those those things that has always confused me a bit. So there is no official procedure for Class C airports, huh? Is there an ATIS freq on pilotedge? I thought I remember reading that the weather was entirely up to the pilot so I assumed that ATIS would be unnecessary for all practial purposes since it was my understanding that ATIS is basically weather information. Am I misunderstanding the purpose of ATIS and is it used on pilotedge. Or was your answer refering to real-world flying only?
Keith Smith

Post by Keith Smith »

Sorry about that, the response was for r/w flying. We don't implement ATIS yet on PE. I have plans for it using a text to speech engine, but it's a long way off.

For PE, I would say contact ground at a Charlie, per the default action above.