CTAF for chat

JonFly

CTAF for chat

Post by JonFly »

Would it be out of the question to get a designated frequency for non-atc traffic? A place I could tune to and chat live with other PE users. This would be especially helpful in getting to know other PE folks.

If this channel caught on and was regularly used there could also be regular meetups, in the ham radio world we call these nets. For example , say at 6am Pacific or at midnight Pacific when ATC services are not online a group of pilots could get on the chat CTAF and "check in" There could be informal meetups but also more structured meetups. During a formal net, a "Net Control" would ask for check ins, users would check in with their aircraft callsigns, the net control would make a list of the check ins and then start a round table where people would introduce themselves,

Ok our first check in tonight is N572DX, go ahead and take the mic

"Hi there, this is N572DX, Jon. I am from Utah. I am new to PE. I use mostly P3D, I am considering restarting my PPL training in the real world. I am interested in why many users on PE are using X-plane?

Net control: "Thanks for checking in Jon, nice to meet you" I use FSX but maybe our other check ins who use X-plane can comment on why they went that route"

N123ZZ, your turn.

"Hello everyone, this is N123ZZ, Jeff. A PE user for two years now. I am an X-plane user and I think the biggest reason I switched was because of the flight dynamics.................. My question to the group is where is everyone with regard to their PE Ratings?

Maybe the third person could comment on both x-plane and the ratings question or pose a new question

Outside of these "nets" pilots could meet on this chat CTAF with another pilot one on one and coordinate a fly-in or joint flight. I know of the forum topic that allows this coordination but talking live with someone to coordinate could be useful and quite enjoyable.