Started Real World IFR training this weekend...

RonCraighead

Started Real World IFR training this weekend...

Post by RonCraighead »

Just thought I'd blog a little about my RW training, and about how it might pertain to Pilot Edge.

I was a 150 hour pilot. I learned to fly out of KSEE in Cherokees, and Sportcruisers mostly. It's great airspace to learn in. If you can fly here, you can fly almost anywhere. But 30 hours a year average isn't much, especially when it's sporadic.

I entered a degree program in Aeronautics. it turns out that a commercial certificate is worth 24 credits. Nearly a year in school. So I had an easy choice. A year in a classroom, or a year in a cockpit becoming a commercial pilot?

So I obviously began to fly like mad. The instrument rating is first.

I went the long way around to get my Private Pilot cert. Starting with Private, then switching to Sport and getting that rating. THEN getting private.

Then flying once in a while... And now it's time to drink aviation water from a fire hose.

It's time to do this the smart way. It's a new thing for me, but I'm going to give it a try.

I'm going to try to keep this relevant to PE. I will try to fly my IFR approaches on PE to prepare for my lessons, and eventually my checkride, and let you all know how it goes.

Thanks again to Keith and the team for this amazing tool!

And off we go...

Ron
Ron Craighead
VFR and IFR Pilot, High Performance and Complex Endorsement (AT-6 Texan), Tailwheel Endorsement (Cessna 170), Spin Endorsement (Great Lakes) and survived some acro!
FAA Advanced Ground Instructor, Instrument Ground Instructor.
RonCraighead

Re: Started Real World IFR training this weekend...

Post by RonCraighead »

So I wanted to polish my stick and rudder skills before I started my IFR training.