Expect visual...contact when on the LOC

Kilstorm

Expect visual...contact when on the LOC

Post by Kilstorm »

Got thrown a curve ball. I was told to expect the visual on the rwy I was landing on and later was instructed to call when established on the Localizer. I was a JS41 with FS2Crew and my co-pilot at the time was acting up so I was trying to handle the run away VS issue and hand fly the plane while switching freq. and finish my checks so I got a bit overloaded and reported I was on the GS instead of the LOC but also I didnt have my radios set up for an ILS since I was expecting a visual. Is that a normal thing to do to be told to expect a visual landing and then be told to call when an instrument reading is active? If so, I will stat setting my radios for the ILS even though I am flying in VFR and expecting a visual landing but at that point I really had my hands full to grab a chart to dial in a Nav when I see the field infront of me.

I'm still new at trying IFR and buy no means am trying to come off other but this is the main reason why I always request an instrument approach with a transition so I know exactly what to expect when it starts to get quick pace and busy.
Nathan Palmer
Nantucket, MA
Mark Hargrove

Re: Expect visual...contact when on the LOC

Post by Mark Hargrove »

I don't think there is anything unusual about being asked to call 'established' on the localizer after being told to expect a visual for Rwy XX. It's really no different than being told to report when established on a VOR radial and I think it's pretty common practice for an approach controller to make such a request when it's busy.

Why wouldn't you have the localizer tuned if one is available for the runway you've been told to expect?

-M.
Mark Hargrove
Longmont, CO
PE: N757SL (Cessna 182T 'Skylane'), N757SM (Cessna 337 'Skymaster'), N757BD (Beech Duke Turbine)
Kilstorm

Post by Kilstorm »