declaring an emergency

FDXDave

declaring an emergency

Post by FDXDave »

So yesterday i figured I'd challenge myself by having an engine catch fire. Something I've never done before. So since i was already with a CTR i advised him of the situation. And he asked for souls on board and fuel and runway requirements. I had also switched to Squawk 7700. So after we got the main things handled, he told me to Squawk my previously assigned Code.
So all in all it went well, i landed better with one engine than i usually do with two lol.
So my only question is was i wrong to Squawk 7700?. Maybe that is reserved for those who are not talking to anyone and switches to guard?. Probably didn't need to switch the code at all since i was instructed to return the code.
Anyway the controller made it fun. It's been awhile since I've felt nervous at the helm : )
Dave
Kevin_atc

Re: declaring an emergency

Post by Kevin_atc »

From a pilot’s perspective, I’m not sure what the FARs say regarding the 7700 code, but I’m pretty sure it is meant for those not talking to ATC because if you’re already in contact with us, it’s a complete waste of time and effort. However, that being said, depending on the emergency I don’t think I would tell the pilot to return back to the old beacon code if they did it on their own because, again, waste of time and effort. Especially in an engine fire situation, I think the cockpit environment would be nonstop checklists, communication with company and communication with the cabin (assuming an airliner) thus with every emergency we try to keep our talking to a minimum unless the situation warrants otherwise.
Kevin
PilotEdge Marketing
Want faster answers to your forum questions? Join our Discord community: www.pilotedge.net/discord
FDXDave

Post by FDXDave »