Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Andrew Miller » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:42 pm

Anyone have any experience with this working on X-Plane? The documentation states MS Flight Sim only, so I wonder if it would work out of the box? Here is the link: http://www.amazon.com/PRO-Flight-Radio- ... =pd_sim_e1
Andrew Miller
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:40 pm

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Steven Winslow » Wed Oct 19, 2011 10:38 pm

I love mine! I wouldn't fly PilotEdge without them. I have two radio panels, the multi panel and the switch panel. They work great on my Mac with X-Plane. You just have to download the plugins for them. Probably the best X-Plane investment I have made. Yes, they work right out of the box....with the plugins.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Nick Adams » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:22 am

I agree with Steven

Probably one of the best things I have bought for XPLANE. It makes PilotEdge a lot more enjoyable, rather than having to mouse click everything, you can actually turn the radio
knobs. Works great, just download the plugin and connect it and it's ready to go.
Last edited by Nick Adams on Thu Oct 20, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nick Adams
CEO - X - US Airways Virtual Airlines http://x-usairways.com
Nick Adams
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:26 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Nick Adams » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:24 am

and I bought all my stuff from amazon too....

I had my multi panel go bad and saitek let me send it in and they replaced it. just keep your receipt from amazon and that's all you need if something happens
Nick Adams
CEO - X - US Airways Virtual Airlines http://x-usairways.com
Nick Adams
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:26 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Steven Winslow » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:35 am

I bought my panels from Nicolas at X-Plane.org. I bought the whole package: yoke, rudder pedals, extra throttle quadrant, TPM module (Cessna type vernier throttle, prop, mixture controls) radio panels, switch panels and multi panel. He gave me a package price. My switch panel went bad a couple months ago and I contacted Nicolas. It was as easy as sending the bad one back to Nicolas and he replaced it.

If I had to give up all my Saitek gear but could keep one item, it would be the radio panel. Especially for PilotEdge. Although, my rudder pedals sure come in handy, too! :)
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Tim Krajcar » Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:44 pm

Last time I looked into this, there were no Windows plugins for any of the Saitek panels. Has that changed?

I have two radio panels, a multi panel, and a switch panel, all of which are sitting dark at the moment ever since I jumped from FSX to XP. :(
Tim Krajcar
Live streams at http://twitch.tv/Tim_PE
View past flights on YouTube
Tim Krajcar
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am
Location: KPDX

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Nick Adams » Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:14 pm

i just checked the .org ....looks like the window plugin is still not developed. probably the only thing us mac users have over the windows system. it's usually
the other way around and nothing will work on the mac :D
Nick Adams
CEO - X - US Airways Virtual Airlines http://x-usairways.com
Nick Adams
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:26 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Daddy O » Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:03 pm

There is a very nice plugin on www.x-plane.org written by one of the contributors. It was recently updated and works very well. Some of you may remember the older plugin where the comms lower knobs were kind of wonky, but that is all fixed now. Even the transponder functions work better.

If you get some of these panels then be sure to get a powered USB 2.0 hub. By the time you connect a Saitek yoke, pedals, throttle, and a couple of these panels, you will be taxing the 5v provided by each root hub.
Daddy O
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:32 am

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Steven Winslow » Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:41 pm

Nick,

Here's the link to the Saitek plugin:

http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?app=downloads&showfile=14646

I have tried this plugin and it works on my Mac. I actually use the other plugins and I'm comfortable with the way they work. This new plugin is available for PC/Linux/Mac. It functions a little differently than the plugins I'm using on my Mac. If/when you install the plugin, make sure you go to your plugins menu and set your preferences for how fast the knobs work. I believe you want to set them to 1 so they move faster.

And yes, you need to have a powered USB hub!
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: Saitek Radio Panel with X-Plane

Postby Tim Krajcar » Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:35 pm

*the skies open and a heavenly chorus of angels sing*

AWESOME. Can't wait to try it.
Tim Krajcar
Live streams at http://twitch.tv/Tim_PE
View past flights on YouTube
Tim Krajcar
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am
Location: KPDX

Next

Return to Pilots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests