P3d v4 CTD... !

P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby pkofman » Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:14 am

Last night I was flying online ( p3dv4 w10x64) . Flight was an IFR plan from KSBA > KONT @ 5000 ft when I was assaulted by my computer with a rude CTD! It came out of nowhere. I included the flight details as someone might recognize a detail above that would trigger the ctd. At the moment of the ctd I think i was in the middle of a voice transmission. ( i dont really recall)

Anyway, the controller was helpful and working with me at the time ( thank you!) and would have received no response from my end. Im sure this happens often but I dont think this ever happened to me with v3.

Anything one can recommend for p3dv4 setup.

( BTW i run the client and the P3dv4 as admin )

Thoughts?

Peter
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby Ryan B » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:15 pm

Have you tried temporarily renaming the SMS files ? It may be AI traffic models creating the issues. I haven't had a working internet for ever try searching the forum
PE ID: 29
FAA ATCS
FAA PPL ASEL
Ryan B
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:37 pm

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby pkofman » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:26 pm

Thank you , i have no idea how or what to change . ill search the forum'
thank you for the suggestion
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby Aviatorbja » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:07 am

For me, the problem went away when I renamed the vip.sms and sbx.sms files to *.bak extensions. these files are found in the pilotedge\aircraft\ folder
since renaming these files, I've flown at least a dozen 1 hour flights on PE without any issues.

Something about those models is not playing well with P3D V4.
Brian Andonian
R/W: SEL, Commercial, CFI (expired)
Flight sim: Lancair Legacy, Turbine Duke N723BA
Aviatorbja
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 8:24 pm
Location: Plymouth, MI - USA

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby pkofman » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:12 am

Excellent , and thank you for the advice. Ill try it and report back. FYI. i do not get CTD'd in p3dv3
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby giltender » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:47 am

This solution works!! I’ve been battling these out of the blue CTD with no errors in the event log every flight. I blamed ORBX, chaseplane, carenado. Couldn’t recreate the crashes unless I was on pilotedge. Changed those names and 3 flights all clear. Does anyone know what those files do? I still seem to have AI aircraft buzzing around which is good.
giltender
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:44 am

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby MervA » Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:37 am

Peter,

Check this thread, may help your dilemma.

http://forums.pilotedge.net/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=7493


Merv
Gigabyte Z270 - HD3 | i7 7700K 4.5 Ghz | Corsair Hydro Cooler H60 |32GB Corsair DDR4 3200 | Windows 7 Pro 64bit | Nvidea GTX 1080 G1 8GB | SSD ScanDisk 240GB, Samsung 500GB | IDE Toshiba 2TB| Acer XB280HK 28" 4K/2K G-Sync Monitor
MervA
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:28 am
Location: Adelaide, Sth Australia

Re: P3d v4 CTD... !

Postby Ths » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:30 am

Just wondering, what effect does it have renaming these files? Are no drones and other pilots shown? Have had the CDD's. Renamed the sbx file and got rid of the crashes, but still having loading stutters from time to time that I don't have when not flying on PE in the same area.
Ths
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:28 am


Return to Prepar3D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron