Page 2 of 3

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:25 pm
by bbuckley
Happened tonight again. Carenado Bonanza, seconds after connecting to PE the mixture went to cutoff. I started back up and seconds later happened again. Started one more time and flew a short test flight out of KCRQ and everything stayed OK. I don't know if it's a Carenado thing or a PE thing. I've reinstalled and tonight I installed the update.

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:29 am
by pkofman
bbuckley wrote:Happened tonight again. Carenado Bonanza, seconds after connecting to PE the mixture went to cutoff. I started back up and seconds later happened again. Started one more time and flew a short test flight out of KCRQ and everything stayed OK. I don't know if it's a Carenado thing or a PE thing. I've reinstalled and tonight I installed the update.


which part did you reinstall. It happened to me again last night but In the acclaim.
Yesterday I flew offline in p3d 3 and 4 with the same carenado planes and I never had this issue
something is weird in the pe environment . please advise per my questions if possible
thank you
Peter

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:07 am
by Keith Smith
This was reported to us a long time ago by Ryan Butterworth, another P3D user and PE member. If Carenado aircraft are loaded as up as AI, they have a 'feature' which kills the mixture (for reasons I don't understand, you'd need to ask them). This will only occur if you encounter an aircraft on the network which effectively maps to the Carenado aircraft. As suggested, you should be able to go to the PE client, browse the mappings and take out the Carenado aircraft. That way, the PE client won't try to load them.

I imagine pretty much the same thing would happen with vPilot on VATSIM if you have the same mappings loaded.

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:26 am
by bbuckley
Thanks. I guess the client auto scans and put the Carenado models that are in SimObjects in the Advanced section. I now disabled the Carenado aircraft from there.

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:36 pm
by pkofman
Bbuckley. Peter here.... did you delete the sim object completely from the aircraft folder. Or just disable as per Keith’s comment in map
Inns. Let me know how it goes. I will report back as well. Peter

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:42 pm
by bbuckley
Peter, I just disabled by unchecking all the Carenado airplanes in the Settings - Model Matching - Advanced section. The most likely path is the SimObjects path identified there.

I flew tonight and had no issues at all, can't be sure if that's because I fixed it or just didn't run into any traffic that would have used those models. But I'm pretty sure it's solved.
Bruce

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:19 pm
by pkofman
I did the same, all good so far on my end but ill test a little more. Its a bit creepy that Carenado has that much control to be able to disable aircraft via ICO. Probably worried about licensing and theft . I don't blame them for that part but it is interesting how they wrote code that is so protectionist. thank you

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:19 am
by pkofman
I followed the instructions from Keith and deleted all Carenado references in the pe client for AI . I was able to successfully fly an Ifr flight last night that was over 1.5 hours in length in the Carenado Ovation with no Mixture cut off.
It seemed to have worked. Thanks all

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:23 pm
by Aviatorbja
This has been happening to me every time I fly the maddogX md82. It was driving me crazy because setting up that plane is very time-consuming. I will try deleting the carenado references tomorrow and see what happens.

Let me get this straight, if I use PE model matching to map an AI aircraft to one of the carenado aircraft that I OWN for p3-D, it’s going to disable the mixtures on my Leonardo MD 82? This makes no sense.

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:40 pm
by Shawn Goldsworthy
As odd as it sounds, it's correct. Carenado seems to have an issue with their planes being used as 3D models other than when you are flying that particular plane. So there seems to be some code built in there to send a command to cut the mixture. It's definitely nothing on PE's end.