VFR approach charts

ianbennett

VFR approach charts

Post by ianbennett »

Hi,

I am a little confused about VFR aproach plates in the US.

I am a French VFR pilot and we have for each airport a set of VFR aproach plates specific to VFR and to the feild.

For my home airport LFMD (Cannes - Mandelieu) VFR plates are : 1 for the area, 1 for the pathern, 1 airport layout, 1 Taxi + some text.

As said this set is totally different from the IFR set for this airport.

Now about the US and our ZLA aera, I am usgin Foreflight for my charts (very nice program on my Ipad), it has VFR navigation charts, TAC charts, I also have all IFR aproach plates, but I cannot see anything about VFR aproach plates. I also looked up on the internet and in other programs and cannot find any VFR aproach plates for US airport.

Could someone explain what you use in the US when you are a VFR pilot, for example could you show me KSNA VFR aproach plates or existing.

Thanks
Steven Winslow

Re: VFR approach charts

Post by Steven Winslow »

I think the approach plates are the approach plates regardless whether you are flying IFR or VFR. I could easily be wrong, too.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Alex Stjepanovic

Post by Alex Stjepanovic »

Ian,

Outside of US, it is relatively common for each/some airport/s to have 'local' VFR charts, which indeed somewhat resemble IFR plates. This is somewhat equivalent to a TAC, which itself is a specific area of a sectional, only at a smaller scale.
ianbennett

Post by ianbennett »

Hi,

So if I understand in the US you do not have stecific VFR aproach plates like in France.

Thanks
Alex Stjepanovic

Correct - For the congested areas, there is the TAC.
ianbennett

Post by ianbennett »

Hi,