TOD Calculator for Sim Pilots

Calvin Waterbury

TOD Calculator for Sim Pilots

Post by Calvin Waterbury »

Hello,

I have been working on the following project for some two years. There are probably some who might have the answer in five minutes, but I am not a mathematician. ;) The gist is to come up with a "Rule of Thumb" (ROT) formula where after the speed, altitude, trip length and desired FPM descent are entered, the descent distance from TOD to BOD can be pin-pointed for any aircraft at any speed for sim pilots that don't know "when" to start the descent. I think it is generally accepted the flight profile will differ greatly between a Piper Archer and a SR-71, but if we look at proportions, is it possible the two might be close enough to identical to be useful in cases where no charts, graphs, tables, etc. are available, i.e., for sim pilots?

To date, I have been considering and toying with these things...
  • Flight Profile - What parts of the flight profile can offer the biggest fuel savings?
    • Takeoff
    • Departure Altitude or BOC (Bottom of Climb)
    • TOC (Top of Climb)
    • Cruise Altitude
    • TOD (Top of Descent)
    • Approach Altitude or BOD (Bottom of Descent)
    • Landing
  • What parts of the flight profile can offer the biggest fuel savings in descending order IMO? (The order is open for debate)
    • 1. Descent - By far the best fuel economy given this is essentially a glide, so maximizing this segment is desirable.
    • 2. Cruise - Especially for jets at high altitudes. Once at altitude, turbines "sip" fuel, but it takes a lot to get the birds to those altitudes.
    • 3. Landing - Mostly a low-powered glide, but this savings might be mitigated by reverse thrust and perhaps glide slope adjustments on final.