Some Feedback + Weather?

robertvo

Some Feedback + Weather?

Post by robertvo »

I'm a private pilot working on my instrument ticket.
So far I participiated on 2 flights, and have to say, I love the service, and would definitly pay for the service to fly more often.
I found the service very realistic and the controllers friendly and helpful. I think the service will definitely help me to reduce the costs of my IFR rating.

Since I'm practicing IFR, I set my weather to 1mile visibility and 800 overcast.
However it seems like controlers don't know the weather on my computer is really bad :) and offer visual approach, so I have to ask for ILS or LOC approach.
Other times they say traffic 3 o'clock 500feet above, so I have to say something like "instrument conditions unable to see". What's the correct response?
The weather reported by ATIS on my computer is also different from the altimeter settting given by controlers.

So, my question is how do you handle difference in weather conditions?
Should I put a comment in my IFR plan that I'm flying IFR in IMC so no visual approaches and no visual separation?

Great service guys, keep it up!
David Carman

Re: Some Feedback + Weather?

Post by David Carman »

Hey, thanks for the feedback!