Drone Traffic Voice Recordings?

Miniwebbs

Drone Traffic Voice Recordings?

Post by Miniwebbs »

I feel like this question would of been asked before but it would be awesome if drone traffic had recorded voice overs. It would be awesome to join a traffic pattern on a non-towered airport and here the drone call the different legs such as base, downwind ect. I feel like this would be an awesome addition to PilotEdge because myself being a VFR virtual pilot I love to fly to different uncontrolled airports over socal but when there is drone traffic I just sometimes don't know what they are doing, for example an aircraft on final could be doing a touch and go that I am unaware of. Also talking of drone traffic I would love to see much more traffic around non-towered airports as most non-towered airports I fly to don't have drones doing patterns or departing.

So If this question hasn't been asked already, I would love to see voice recorded drone traffic implemented into PE it would be awesome :D
Amateur scenery developer and aviation enthusiast that hopes to be a pilot one day!

Current V Rating: Completed!
Current CAT Rating: Completed!
Current I Rating: n/a
Home Airport: YSSY

Catch me making scenery live!: https://www.twitch.tv/miniwebbs
Althar93

Re: Drone Traffic Voice Recordings?

Post by Althar93 »

Although I do like the idea, I guess it has a few associated problems, such as stepping on other pilots & not being able to coordinate with said drones ; in such a case, how do you tell whether the traffic that just spoke is an actual human vs. a recording?
Keith Smith

Re: Drone Traffic Voice Recordings?

Post by Keith Smith »

There are too many issues with attempting to synthesize voice for the drones. The resulting experience would still not be realistic in that they wouldn't be responsive to your calls.