Few questions before joining

reanopp

Few questions before joining

Post by reanopp »

Hi all,

I've been a flightsim pilot for the last 12 years or so, mostly focusing on PMDG planes (especially the B738). Currently I use ProATC for synthetic ATC as I found it to be the only somewhat reliable one to provide SID/STAR clearances, etc. I've tried my hand at VATSIM before, but found the lack of dedicated controllers to be an issue.

As far as procedures go, I wouldn't say I'm 101% up to scratch, but probably above 90% at least :) Simple things like having the transponder on during ground ops, etc still confuse me a bit. TA/RA during taxi or only before takeoff, etc. However, clearance delivery I'm fine with, ditto with flight planning including departures, arrivals and approaches. Since I've never flown the smaller airframes much, "left downwind leg" etc does confuse me. Instrument ops is where I feel comfortable, and with the B738 (and occasionally B772, B744, and A320) that's usually how it ends up going.

Is there any PE-specific things I need to learn before I start? Thinking of the transponder here as an example, but I'm sure there's more.
Scott Medeiros

Re: Few questions before joining

Post by Scott Medeiros »

Treat PilotEdge as you would the real world. All frequencies are available, and all civilian airspace rules are to be obeyed. You'll find much more depth to the PE environment than you would with AI ATC or VATSIM. I suggest you take a look at our training programs to brush up on VFR (CAT ratings) and IFR (I-ratings) procedures. ZLA and Western US has some very interesting airspace and instrument procedures and the ratings touch on some of them. It's a great resource for both experienced pilots, as well as students. https://www.pilotedge.net/pages/trainin ... m-overview

Welcome to PilotEdge, I hope you enjoy your experience!!
Scott
reanopp

Post by reanopp »

Ah, great - thanks! I'll brush up on the info on the I-ratings before trying to fly online :)