Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airport

Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airport

Postby Alex56 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:07 am

Hello, everyone!
I usually fly in live weather with AS16. But when the weather does not allow, where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airport I need? I did not find information about this in PE.

Thanks.
A2A Piper Comanche 250 Professional, callsign N822JH, LogiTech 940 (joystick, pedals, throtle), AS16, P3Dv3.
Alex56
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:02 am

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby kevin meyers » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:15 am

Kevin Meyers
Retired PilotEdge Air Traffic Controller / Instructor
Dallas, Texas
kevin meyers
 
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:01 pm

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby Keith Smith » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:53 am

Stay tuned for a PE-driven ATIS system in the very near future. It will be fully integrated with the sim.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9578
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby Alex56 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:28 am

Of course, I stay with you and wait for a PE-driven ATIS system in the near future. Thanks. :)
A2A Piper Comanche 250 Professional, callsign N822JH, LogiTech 940 (joystick, pedals, throtle), AS16, P3Dv3.
Alex56
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:02 am

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby FDXDave » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:07 pm

Keith Smith wrote:Stay tuned for a PE-driven ATIS system in the very near future. It will be fully integrated with the sim.


Curious. Will the new upcoming ATIS come from my Sim or just broadcast the real world METAR?

Eg. What if someone wants to run custom, or historic weather?. Would it still give what the sim is doing like altimeter and temp? Not something i personally would do but i know we can. Just let the controller know ahead of time.

Would have to modify the active runway in this case i guess...

I use FSGRW
Really looking forward to this.
Dave.
FDXDave
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby Alex56 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 1:13 am

I made an attempt to fly CAT-2. My AS16 showed that at the KSBP airport there was an OVC002 and visibility 2 miles. I found the weather in MyFlightRoute: dep and arrival rw29 and other data. In AS16 I made custom weather in KSBP: OVC035 and visibility more than 6 miles. I left other data were like in the MyFlightRoute. 10 miles before KSBP I contacted the controller at 124.00: "San Luis tower, Paper N822JH, 10 miles East, at 4000, full stop landing, with custom weather, request CAT-2 rating." Instead of a routine response (something in the nature of "report 4 miles right base") I heard information that I did not understand, because I don't hear English well. I replied that I did not understand unfortunately. I apologized and disconnected from RE Network. Later, I guessed that the controller told me that, in this weather condition landing on VFR at the airport of class D is prohibited.
I have a question: according to the rules of PE, I still have no right to fly VFR to class D airspace even if I made custom weather for my flight? Should I wait for the weather for CAT-2 flight as in real world? Thanks.
A2A Piper Comanche 250 Professional, callsign N822JH, LogiTech 940 (joystick, pedals, throtle), AS16, P3Dv3.
Alex56
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:02 am

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby kullery » Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:45 am

Suggest that you locate and listen to the audio recording (https://www.pilotedge.net/audio/today) of your flight and confirm exactly what the controller’s instructions were.
Ken Ullery - PPL-SEL, 1G5
MyFlightRoute.com
Image
kullery
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:13 am
Location: Medina, OH

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby Keith Smith » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:54 am

Since the field was below VFR minimums, the controller was probably asking if you were using custom weather. If you know the real world weather is below VFR minimums then it is best to tell the controller that you have your own weather so that they don't continue simulating the IFR weather for your scenario.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9578
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby FDXDave » Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:20 am

Still curious.
" Curious. Will the new upcoming ATIS come from my Sim or just broadcast the real world METAR? "
Dave
FDXDave
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Where can I find out what is weather in PE at the airpor

Postby Keith Smith » Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:42 am

FDXDave wrote:Still curious.
" Curious. Will the new upcoming ATIS come from my Sim or just broadcast the real world METAR? "
Dave


It will be a radio broadcast on the network, using real word METAR, and will reflect the runway that we're using at the time. It will be immediately and easily accessible to the controllers on the scope.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9578
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests