Getting Back into Flying

winterhank

Getting Back into Flying

Post by winterhank »

I was a commercial pilot with multi-engine, flight instructor, and instrument ratings 15 years ago. It's been a long time since the last time I talked to a controller.

Now, I'm thinking of getting back into it thanks to PE.

I have flown on other online systems but found Pilotedge and gave it a try. Here's what I found:

Pros:
1. Pilotedge Controllers are qualified and mimic a true flight environment
2. CAT ratings ease you though the various situations you will encounter in the real world. I recommend you prepare by planning the flight, reviewing the airspace, and documenting the freqs.
3. Controllers will fail you if you don't follow procedures for the ratings. I appreciate this as I want to know when I screw up because I don't want to in the real world.
4. Controllers are patient and will let you know what you are doing wrong. (I was on last night and it was busy but the controller worked with a pilot for a good 2 hours to help).
5. Price. I can get the same ATC experience flying a real plane at $180 an hour (with the added expense of screwing up) or I can fly PE for my ATC training for much less. No commute to the airport either!
6. I have found that the controllers are consistent no matter who is on. The rules don't change based on who the controller is.

Cons:
1. Many do not communicate at non-towered fields or will take the active without understanding others are in the pattern (and communicating).
2. ATC gets busy just like in the real world. Both a pro and a con. It could be a little while before you can talk - especially during prime time. Better in a simulator than adding engine hours.