Sim Disconnected - Any way to Resume?

Glastarmike

Sim Disconnected - Any way to Resume?

Post by Glastarmike »

I'm fairly new to PilotEdge and suspect this has been addressed in a previous post, so sorry for the repeat...
On occasion my sim (X-plane 11) has crashed while I'm on an IFR flight. I've checked the log and the reason has no consistent cause: Plug-in, lost internet, general computer crash, etc. But I'm not looking for troubleshooting ideas, my question is once I reboot the sim, it there any proper etiquette or best process where I could connect back into the ATC/PilotEdge environment at about the same location/altitude/speed and resume the flight, or do I just need to consider that previous flight terminated (Call it Sim CFIT) and reload the airplane in a non-movement area at an airport and start over?

BTW: I've wondered if in-flight Pop-Up IFR clearance requests are permitted on PilotEdge. (Assuming I'm flying VFR in Class E airspace.) I thought this might be a work-around for the crashed sim situation.

In advance - thanks for any help or links to an existing thread I can read.
Mike
Kevin_atc

Re: Sim Disconnected - Any way to Resume?

Post by Kevin_atc »

Make sure you have your AI traffic turned off within XPlane settings. If you don’t know how to do that, check out the XPlane client installation video on the pilotedge YouTube account or website. AI traffic is a common cause of a crash. This setting will not affect the PE traffic that you see.

Pop up IFRs are just fine- If you can do it in the real world, you can do it on PE!
Kevin
PilotEdge Marketing
Want faster answers to your forum questions? Join our Discord community: www.pilotedge.net/discord
Glastarmike

Post by Glastarmike »

Thanks for the tip on what may be the cause of the sim crashing - I'll check the AI settings in xPlane before my next session and make sure it is disabled.