Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby virtualDon » Tue Oct 27, 2020 10:48 pm

OK, I have all my MFS2020 traffic (AI and live) off as noted by the installation page (I've also dialed down the airport vehicles as MFS2020 likes to ram me with fuel trucks or put maintenance vehicles on the runway if I don't use their ATC services!). My question is, What traffic do I see? It seems like I only see about half the aircraft the controllers are talking to. After landing at KEMT, for instance, the tower gave one guy a landing clearance but advised him there was departing traffic on RY19. I could see the Skyhawk taxi onto RY19 and then take off but the traffic on approach was not displayed. In fact, when I was sure he must have landed already, the tower gave him taxi instructions to parking and he should have been coming right toward me. Do we only see other people using MFS2020. I'm afraid I don't know what client he was using but do I not see Xplane or Prepar3D traffic?
virtualDon
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:55 pm

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby Kevin_atc » Wed Oct 28, 2020 5:58 am

You should see all of it, regardless of the sim the other user is running. Unfortunately, FS2020 with all of its quirks has caused some traffic to randomly not display at times. Hopefully Microsoft will fix this moving forward, but no guarantees. Often a quick disconnect and reconnect solves the problem.
Kevin
PilotEdge Marketing
Want faster answers to your forum questions? Join our Discord community: www.pilotedge.net/discord
Kevin_atc
 
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:01 pm

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby virtualDon » Wed Oct 28, 2020 3:28 pm

Thanks - I wasn't sure since it must be almost half the time I see no traffic (none is displayed!). I'll have to try sitting at a busy airport and listening to the controller and see how many of the other planes show up!
virtualDon
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:55 pm

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby Kevin_atc » Wed Oct 28, 2020 7:55 pm

Easier to just go to KCPM and use the show drone option on the live map
Kevin
PilotEdge Marketing
Want faster answers to your forum questions? Join our Discord community: www.pilotedge.net/discord
Kevin_atc
 
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 7:01 pm

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby virtualDon » Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:15 am

I've been reading up on drones - cool! I had no idea they were flying around with us. Does this explain why when I was on the ramp at L88 there was an Airbus 320 Neo sitting on the taxiway? Or was that a MFS2020 aberration?

BTW, when I reconnected I did see every traffic that the live map showed, so that's good!
virtualDon
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:55 pm

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby Scott Medeiros » Fri Oct 30, 2020 11:36 am

Yes, the default model when model matching can't find a suitable match is the A320. You can change the default aircraft in your settings under Model Matching. Entries into that field must match the aircraft title in the aircraft.cfg. For example, mine is set as "Generic Piston Multi Engines Asobo 00" and will display the generic twin instead of an airliner.
Scott Medeiros
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:49 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Seeing Live (PE) Traffic

Postby virtualDon » Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:19 pm

Scott Medeiros wrote:Yes, the default model when model matching can't find a suitable match is the A320. You can change the default aircraft in your settings under Model Matching. Entries into that field must match the aircraft title in the aircraft.cfg. For example, mine is set as "Generic Piston Multi Engines Asobo 00" and will display the generic twin instead of an airliner.


That would do it - it said "Generic two engine airliner". I had to go off-roading to taxi around that beastie. Thanks for the info!
virtualDon
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:55 pm


Return to FS2020

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest