WTB used GTX970

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators
wmburns

WTB used GTX970

Post by wmburns »

Let me start off by stating for the record that I hate to spend too much for PC parts (I have been called cheap). I don't mind spending a lot of $$'s on my sim rig but I want to feel like that I'm getting the most value for the money spent. My day job is networking so I like to think that I'm somewhat "in the know". The down side of how I buy PC components is that my systems tend to be older with little future growth head room. This creates a situation where any new requirements often causes a cascade of upgrades resulting in a whole new build.

In June of 2013 for the first time ever I built a NEW PC based upon the very recently released Haswell CPU. ASUS Z87 mother board combined with a GTX640 video card. Life was good until after an display upgrade. My research indicated the GTX640 was no longer up to the task. Upgrade to a GTX750Ti resulted in frame rates over 100 FPS! Hands down the most powerful sim PC I have ever owned!

Over time additional airplanes, increased rending options, and X-Plane updates has seen the frame rate drop to 25-30 FPS. For the most part is a playable frame rate. My problem is I would like to increase the frontal view area by adding a 2nd display. With the GTX750Ti maxed out, the 2nd display isn't going to happen without upgrades.

As a cost saving measure my first attempt to upgrade was to a GTX960 which really didn't improve my sim experience.
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=5733

Because of time constraints (30 day return period) I had to return the GTX960 before really finding out why a video card that on paper is 60% more powerful was soooo much worse in practice. I now believe the problem was a combination of CPU load and marginal VRAM. A recent CPU upgrade from a 3.0 GHz to 3.5 overclocked CPU has shown an improvement in frame rates on the original GTX750Ti (30-35 FPS).