Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators

Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby rtataryn » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:00 pm

On the ground in KMRY, I dial up clearance delivery 135.45 to pick up my IFR and I hear the KSFO ATIS broadcast. I've had this happen other times too, but don't recall the airports or frequencies used. Is there a way in X-plane (I'm using 10) to disable the computer ATIS, or shorten the distance that it can be received? I ended up just using the KMRY ground frequency to pick up my clearance, but I was wondering if anyone knows of a solution to this.
Rod
PPL, Instrument rated, ASEL, ASES
Cirrus SR22T
N224LW
rtataryn
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:19 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Re: Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby 172MC » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:26 pm

You can edit your KSFO airport apt.dat to put in an ATIS frequency different from 135.45; there are 3 other ones, just pick one of those and enter it
172MC
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:43 pm

Re: Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby rtataryn » Thu Jun 08, 2017 4:44 pm

Thanks! I'll do that. Much appreciated.
Rod
PPL, Instrument rated, ASEL, ASES
Cirrus SR22T
N224LW
rtataryn
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:19 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Re: Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby 172MC » Thu Jun 08, 2017 6:25 pm

If it is MisterX's KSFO, the apt.dat already has a second ATIS frequency, but it appears underneath 135.45, so all you need to do is delete the line with the 13545.
172MC
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 4:43 pm

Re: Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby rtataryn » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:08 pm

Yep, it's MisterX's. Thanks again.
Rod
PPL, Instrument rated, ASEL, ASES
Cirrus SR22T
N224LW
rtataryn
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:19 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Re: Nearby ATIS frequency over-rides local freq.

Postby Keith Smith » Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:51 am

If this happens anywhere else, just call the ground frequency and pick up the clearance there, briefly notifying the controller that you have an issue with the clearance freq. No biggie.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9165
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ


Return to Flight Simulators and PE clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests