Equipment Suffix Question

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators

Equipment Suffix Question

Postby CaptainMD » Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 am

Hello, I’m flying the 737 800 on PE. I beleive my equipment suffix is /L GNSS , Transponder mode C RVSM. When I asked for clearance for my flight plan, the controller said that I may not use an RNAV arrival STAR for my destination airport. This is where I get confused. Should I only be selecting STARS that do not have the RNAV accronyn and ONLY use the STARS that have ARR?

Than you in advance
Massimo D'Alessandro
Simulator Pilot
Aircraft: 737-800, Beech Baron 58
CaptainMD
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:17 am

Re: Equipment Suffix Question

Postby Tim Krajcar » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:49 pm

/L aircraft can fly RNAV arrivals, so one of two things happened:

1) you didn't actually file as /L, or
2) the controller made a mistake.

Both are possible, but #2 seems a bit less likely :)

If you filed your flight plan via the website I can look at the logs and see what you filed, if you tell me what callsign you used.
Tim Krajcar
Live streams at http://twitch.tv/Tim_PE
View past flights on YouTube
Tim Krajcar
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am
Location: KPDX

Re: Equipment Suffix Question

Postby CaptainMD » Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:33 pm

Hi Tim,

I filed last night around 8 PM EST under AA 4458. Flight was from KPSP to KLAS Rwy26R.
My original STAR for KLAS was the KEPEC 6 RNAV Arrival. I was then switched to the CLARR3 arrival.
Thanks for looking into this for me. I’m really determined to understand the world of ATC.
Massimo D'Alessandro
Simulator Pilot
Aircraft: 737-800, Beech Baron 58
CaptainMD
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 4:17 am

Re: Equipment Suffix Question

Postby Tim Krajcar » Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 pm

It looks like you submitted a web flight plan for just the callsign '4458', then logged in with 'AAL4458' (the latter being correct). The contents of the flight plan don't matter in that case because they wouldn't have been shown to the controller, since you didn't login with a callsign that matched anything that had been filed. My guess is you called for clearance and the controller instructed you to re-file, and you did so from inside the client. Unfortunately I can't see what the equipment suffix you used from that in-client filing was, so the investigation ends there, but I think the learning value has been extracted either way :)
Tim Krajcar
Live streams at http://twitch.tv/Tim_PE
View past flights on YouTube
Tim Krajcar
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am
Location: KPDX


Return to Flight Simulators and PE clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests