ATIS

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators

ATIS

Postby RogerW » Thu Mar 29, 2018 9:07 am

Does PE provide the ATIS or is my FSX generating it?
Sounds like FSX voices and is not matching real-world weather(default "real-world weather" that is)
Roger W.
Home: Valkaria, Fl (X59)(but lost in SoCal)
PE Rating: CAT-11, I-2
Experience: IRL 7 hrs, Virtual 2500+ hrs
FSX
Aircraft: A2A Cessna 182 Skylane
Tail Number: N7365W
Facebook blog: https://www.facebook.com/Fly-by-Night-Aerospace-719016678295028/
RogerW
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:47 pm
Location: Valkaria, Fla (X59) USA

Re: ATIS

Postby Tim Krajcar » Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:45 pm

PE does not currently have any ATIS implementation, so if you're hearing ATIS, it's from your sim and reflects the weather settings currently in use in the sim.
Tim Krajcar
Live streams at http://twitch.tv/Tim_PE
View past flights on YouTube
Tim Krajcar
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:41 am
Location: KPDX

Re: ATIS

Postby FDXDave » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:25 am

Tim answered regarding tunning your radios to ATIS. But you can use this website controlled by PE for ATIS. Most of the time the info is accurate.

http://www.myflightroute.com/

Dave
FDXDave
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: ATIS

Postby RogerW » Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:12 am

Thank you both of you. I thought so on the ATIS
It sounded too familiar.

Thanks for the link :)

Roger
Roger W.
Home: Valkaria, Fl (X59)(but lost in SoCal)
PE Rating: CAT-11, I-2
Experience: IRL 7 hrs, Virtual 2500+ hrs
FSX
Aircraft: A2A Cessna 182 Skylane
Tail Number: N7365W
Facebook blog: https://www.facebook.com/Fly-by-Night-Aerospace-719016678295028/
RogerW
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:47 pm
Location: Valkaria, Fla (X59) USA

Re: ATIS

Postby tbaac » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:39 pm

Interesting about ATIS. I notice on the myflightroute website it has a link to an ATIS Player, playing audio clips.

As the clips already exist, it would be fun to have the option to have them streamed to your simulator when connected to PE and tuned to the relevant frequency within range I think.
Have it optional obviously for those that don't use real weather but it still could be cool.

I know ATIS comes up every so often and I imagine there's a really good reason why this isn't practical but I can't think of it right now.
Other than the work involved in doing it, all I can think is that maybe not all airfields are covered. Would be nice though.

Thanks.
tbaac
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 2:32 pm
Location: EGLF, England

Re: ATIS

Postby kullery » Wed Apr 18, 2018 10:05 am

Keith has addressed this topic a number of times in the past. This project is on his “development radar” (perhaps when it’s set to maximum range). See viewtopic.php?f=5&t=7147 for some of his posts on this topic.
Ken Ullery - PPL-SEL, 1G5
MyFlightRoute.com
Image
kullery
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:13 am
Location: Medina, OH


Return to Flight Simulators and PE clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest