COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Simon Ambrose » Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:41 am

Another thing to be aware of with the FS Atis (at least for FSX), is that the "ATIS INFORMATION" (for a given airport) is not the same for each pilot.

When you start FSX, the Atis information for a given aiport will auto-incrememt, each time there is a significant change, so the LETTER that it currently is, is more an indiaction of how long your SIM has been running, than anything else.

So when you hear your ATIS, say at KLAX say "INFORMATION DELTA", someone else also at KLAX could be listening to "THEIR SIM's ATIS", and might hear INFORMATION HOTEL.

This would seem to lead to two option in PE.

Either pilot tell controller he has say "INFORMATION BRAVO" and the controller (and Pilot) , knowing the above limitations , accepts that, despite the previous pilots might having called "INFORMATION HOTEL"

or

PIlots ( more unrealistically), are forced to say something like "CURRENT ATIS", or "NUMBERS" to avoid this confusion.

Keith, maybe you can give a ruling on this, I suspect choosing the First Option, keeping the Phrasiology correct, and making everyone aware (especially the controllers) of the SIM's limitation, to avoid confusion.

Simon
Simon Ambrose
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:20 pm

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:20 am

There is some training value in pilots going through the process of checking ATIS prior to calling ATC for taxi. The mechanism by which they report that they have the current weather simply isn't of a concern to PE controllers.

If pilots have checked weather through an external source and bypass their ATIS system, knowing that unlike the real world the built-in ATIS is doing nothing other than read the weather, that's fine. In that case, "have numbers" is quite reasonable and is technically accurate for that situation.

If pilots would like to report THEIR atis code, that's fine, so long as they realize the limitation that some of the information may be inaccurate.

The inconsistent use of ATIS codes vs "have numbers" is a non-issue for PE controllers, and, I suspect, for pilots alike.

When the time comes that we have our own custom ATIS, then there will be a way to standardize the reporting. For now, it's up to each pilot how they elect to model that process.

What I need to do is document this in the formal documentation on the web site. I'll add it to the list.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9356
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby dancemad » Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:18 am

I stumbled across this thread tonight and never knew that I could get the 'verbal' ATIS through X-Planes 'real weather' using COM2. So I got excited only to find that I can't get it to work as described. I am using Windows 7, XP 9.7 with Saitek radios. The first thing I discover is that I cannot get to the XP text windows by hitting the enter key when VSPro is enabled in the plugins folder. Second thing is that I am not getting any verbal ATC through the COM2 radio when tuned to the 'real world' ATIS frequency at any given airfield. My sound preferences are set to enable ATC verbal and text and have tried combination's of both. I have also tried logged into PE and not logged into PE. Any other advice would be appreciated as I would love to have this feature.

Thanks,
Michael O
dancemad
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Steven Winslow » Thu Nov 17, 2011 7:42 am

I have the Saitek radio panels and the ATIS works for me at most airports. There are a few that even without the VSPro plugin installed do not automatically broadcast. Make sure you have turned on your COM2 radio on the panel of your aircraft. Just because you tuned in your COM2 radio does not mean it is the active radio. You have to activate the radio.
Last edited by Steven Winslow on Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby dancemad » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:02 pm

Beautiful, thanks Steve.....I was trying at a non broadcasting airfield.....;-)
dancemad
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:00 am

Updated the FS9/X information. If you use the 'both' setting for the com radios, it will use whichever radio was most recently tuned. I'm working on fixing that as we speak.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9356
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Daddy O » Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:47 pm

Just checking on an update, is com 2 available for use with the latest plugin?
Daddy O
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:32 am

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:37 am

If you're asking about X-Plane, the ability was added Aug 14, 2012 in v0.7.7. See the announcement in the X-Plane subforum with the release history.

I'll update the first post in this thread accordingly.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9356
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby dc8flightdeck » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:31 pm

Thats a great looking cockpit. Well done!!


ianbennett wrote:Thanks for your answers,

I am really looking forward to re assemble my cockpit and fly with pilotedge, and the addition of your own ATIS would be great.


Thanks again

See my cockpit:
photo:
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4eb71074 ... 1105&sff=1

video:
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4eb71074 ... 1113&sff=1


Ian Bennett
dc8flightdeck
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:11 am
Location: Wichita, Kansas

Previous

Return to Flight Simulators and PE clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests