COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Discussions surrounding the software that lets pilots connect to PilotEdge and the actual simulators

COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:50 am

For FS9/X, it works as follows:
if COM1 is selected, PE will transmit and receive COM1.
if COM2 is selected, PE will transmit and receive COM2.
if 'both' are selected (in v0.9.1), PE will transmit and receive on the selected radio. You'll be able to receive the simulator-generated ATIS (in FSX) on the other radio.

For X-Plane, it works as follows:
if COM1 is selected, PE will use COM1
For windows: if COM2 is selected, PE will use COM2.
For Mac (up until v0.7.5), if COM2 is selected, PE will use COM1. (this will be fixed in the next build to bring it in sync with the windows version)

If you'd like to be able to tune the sim's built-in ATIS, then do this:
for FS9/X:
- select COM1/2, tune the ATIS on com1, tune ATC on com2

EDIT: there is some kind of issue where after swapping between radios in FS9/X, you might have to recycle the ATC frequency to get it to 'kick in'. This is a result of the com2 radio not originally being intended for use in the current implementation. If you swap radios and get an unexpected result, simply flip from active/stdby and back, that should give the desired result.

for X-Plane:
- select COM2, tune the ATIS on com2, tune ATC on com1
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9167
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby ianbennett » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:08 am

Hi,

I have x-plane and have not yet installed pilotedge but will do so as soon as my simulator is ready, so sorry if my question has a simple answer:

Do we have real ATIS messages on real ATIS frequencies?

And if yes I do not understand the post before this one, way would we want to use x-plane ATIS, did I miss something?

Thanks
ianbennett
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:33 am

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Steven Winslow » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:20 am

You don't get "real" ATIS information on "real" ATIS frequencies. If you tune to the ATIS frequency, you get the ATIS information that X-Plane downloads if you have "Download METAR" checked. You should be using RealWeather when you're flying on PilotEdge. I believe that's the weather information PE is using. I find that most of the time, the wind and altimeter information ATC gives me when calling for taxi is pretty close to what my X-Plane ATIS is giving me. But the X-Plane METAR is usually a couple hours behind, even though I have it set to update every 3 minutes.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby ianbennett » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:23 am

Thanks for your answer it is very clear,

One more clarification, as I said my simulator needs rebuilding before I can run anything, an other week or two.

I have never used the x-plane ATIS , is it audio or text on the screen.

Thanks again,

Ian. ( futur big user of pilotedge)
ianbennett
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:33 am

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Steven Winslow » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:29 am

It is both audio and text. However, I believe you can turn off the text portion. I've never tried, but I think there's an option to turn off visual cockpit warnings and announcements in the operations menu.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:34 am

The presentation of the ATIS is governed by the Sound menu in X-Plane, it's actually separate to the option for toggling text-based warnings.

You can have X-Plane's ATC delivered to you via voice, text, neither, or both.

The weather is pulled from NOAA, the same source that we use in the controlling client, so the weather should sync fairly closely. The runway selection will often be inaccurate in the X-Plane ATIS, though, so you should use it only as a source of atmospheric conditions.

In the future, we do plan on rolling our own ATIS system.

Keith
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9167
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby ianbennett » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:17 pm

Thanks for your answers,

I am really looking forward to re assemble my cockpit and fly with pilotedge, and the addition of your own ATIS would be great.


Thanks again

See my cockpit:
photo:
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4eb71074 ... 1105&sff=1

video:
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=4eb71074 ... 1113&sff=1


Ian Bennett
Last edited by ianbennett on Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ianbennett
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:33 am

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Steven Winslow » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:31 pm

Hmmm.....bad links, Ian.
Steven Winslow
CEO/Owner - Air Northwest Virtual Airlines • http://www.airnorthwest.org
People should get what they want when they want it once in a while. Keeps them optimisitic.
Steven Winslow
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: KBZN - Bozeman, MT

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby Keith Smith » Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:07 pm

Ian,

Don't worry too much about the custom ATIS, the xplane ATIS actually does the job. It gets you the weather which is the most important thing. The runway info is nice to have, but is easily solicited/delivered via ATC.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9167
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: COM1 vs COM2 and how to get FS/XP ATIS

Postby ianbennett » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:29 pm

Steven Winslow wrote:Hmmm.....bad links, Ian.



Links have been corrected.
ianbennett
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 8:33 am

Next

Return to Flight Simulators and PE clients

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest