Page 1 of 1

PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:47 am
by luckyb52
Hi All :),

I have simconnect installed in my desktop (as shown in the screengrab of my <control panel/programs and features> shown below:

Image


MSFS is working fine on my desktop, but when I launch PE I get this error:

Image


I uninstalled and reinstalled PE but this still happens.

I would be very grateful if you could advise me on how to solve this problem :)

Best regards,

Lucky

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 6:53 am
by Kevin_atc
I’m not too familiar with it, but did you download simconnect separately or something?

Nothing in the setup instructions for PE requires you to do anything with simconnect.

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 8:15 am
by luckyb52
Thanks for your reply, Kevin ---

Yes, Kevin, I downloaded it separately. Initially I installed the PE client and got the same PE error message. Then I noticed that simconnect was not in my list of installed programs. No wonder PE could not find it, I thought, so I went out and got it, then installed it.

Rgds

Lucky

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 8:36 am
by Kevin_atc
Did you make sure the pilot cleint installed within users/[name]/appdata/local/pilotedge? (the default location)

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:00 am
by luckyb52
Will check and get back to you, Kevin...

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:33 am
by Kevin_atc
Resolved via Discord live chat.

For those following along, user had changed the default installation location of the Pilot Client which led to the issues described above.
Users should stick with the default installation location when installing the pilot client and refrain from changing it unless you have good reason.

Re: PE Not Seeing Simconnect

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 6:08 am
by luckyb52
Hi All,

Just to wrap things up, I did as Kevin instructed (installing PE in the C: drive folder he specified) and PE worked perfectly after that.

Thanks again, Kevin!

Lucky