Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

joomie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:49 am

Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by joomie »

Hi!

Beta testing the Flightfactor A320 I'd like to read the specification of the Pilotedge plugin. Where can one find it?

(I had the same wish to understand how the PE plugin deals with radio related datarefs already when using other aircraft in the past)

Background is below (potential) issue report I'll try to investigate:
datarefs.jpg
datarefs.jpg (159.67 KiB) Viewed 8382 times
I started and searched all writable datarefs for the string "radio" (https://www.siminnovations.com/xplane/d ... mit=Search).

Then I removed the ones being related to radio altimeter, DME, ADF.

32 datarefs are left (see .csv format below).

Now I need to figure out

1) The difference between settings on the radio management panel (RMP) 1 & audio control panel (ACP) 1 versus RMP 2 & ACP 2 (dataref logging)
2) Which datarefs are being read by the Pilotedge plugin and what effects do their values have in detail

Code: Select all

Name                                                        ;Type   ;Writable;Units       ;Description                                                                                         
sim/cockpit/radios/com1_freq_hz                             ;int    ;y       ;10Hz        ;The current frequency of the com1 radio.                                                           
sim/cockpit/radios/com2_freq_hz                             ;int    ;y       ;10Hz        ;The current frequency of the com2 radio.                                                            
sim/cockpit/radios/com1_stdby_freq_hz                       ;int    ;y       ;10Hz        ;The standby frequency for the radio mentioned above for flip/flop radios.                           
sim/cockpit/radios/com2_stdby_freq_hz                       ;int    ;y       ;10Hz        ;The standby frequency for the radio mentioned above for flip/flop radios.                           
sim/cockpit/switches/audio_panel_out                        ;int    ;y       ;???         ;Settings for the com radio audio panel. 6=com1,7=com2                                               
sim/operation/sound/radio_volume_ratio                      ;float  ;y       ;0-1         ;Volume level for the com radios, ratio from 0 (silent) to 1 (max loudness)                          
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_power                    ;int    ;y       ;boolean     ;Com radio 1 off or on, 0 or 1.                                                                      
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_power                    ;int    ;y       ;boolean     ;Com radio 2 off or on, 0 or 1.                                                                      
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_frequency_hz             ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Com radio 1 frequency, 10 hz                                                                        
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_frequency_Mhz            ;int    ;y       ;Mhz         ;Com radio 1 frequency, Mhz component only                                                           
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_frequency_khz            ;int    ;y       ;khz         ;Com radio 1 frequency, khz component only                                                           
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_frequency_hz_833         ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Com radio 1 frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                                 
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_frequency_hz             ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Com radio 2 frequency, 10 hz                                                                        
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_frequency_Mhz            ;int    ;y       ;Mhz         ;Com radio 2 frequency, Mhz component only                                                           
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_frequency_khz            ;int    ;y       ;khz         ;Com radio 2 frequency, khz component only                                                           
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_frequency_hz_833         ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Com radio 2 frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                                 
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_standby_frequency_hz     ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Com radio 1 standby frequency, 10 hz                                                                
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_standby_frequency_Mhz    ;int    ;y       ;Mhz         ;Standby Com radio 1 frequency, Mhz component only                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_standby_frequency_khz    ;int    ;y       ;khz         ;Standby Com radio 1 frequency, khz component only                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_standby_frequency_hz_833 ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Com radio 1 standby frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                         
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_standby_frequency_hz     ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Com radio 2 standby frequency, 10 hz                                                                
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_standby_frequency_Mhz    ;int    ;y       ;Mhz         ;Standby Com radio 2 frequency, Mhz component only                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_standby_frequency_khz    ;int    ;y       ;khz         ;Standby com radio 2 frequency, khz component only                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_standby_frequency_hz_833 ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Com radio 2 standby frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                         
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_left_frequency_hz        ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Left Com radio 1 frequency, 10 hz                                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_left_frequency_hz_833    ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Left Nav radio 1 frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                            
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_left_frequency_hz        ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Left Com radio 2 frequency, 10 hz                                                                   
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_left_frequency_hz_833    ;int    ;y       ;hertz       ;Left Nav radio 2 frequency, hz, supports 8.3 khz spacing                                            
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_right_frequency_hz       ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Right Com radio 1 frequency, hz                                                                     
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_right_frequency_hz       ;int    ;y       ;10hertz     ;Right Com radio 2 frequency, hz                                                                     
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_right_is_selected        ;int    ;y       ;boolean     ;1 if right com 1 radio is selected, 0 if left is selected                                           
sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_right_is_selected        ;int    ;y       ;boolean     ;1 if right com 2 radio is selected, 0 if left is selected                                           
May someone from the Pilotedge team help here?

That would be highly appreciated.

Many thanks,
joomie
X-Plane 11.00pb3, Win 10 (64bit), ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING, Intel Core i7 6700K@4.5 GHz, Inno3D iChill GTX 1080 X3 (no OC), 32GB DDR4 RAM, ASUS Strix SOAR sound card, 1.25 TB SSD, SAMSUNG SUHD 55'' TV 3840x2160, TrackIR5.4.2
Keith Smith
Posts: 9939
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ
Contact:

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by Keith Smith »

Here are the datarefs that we utilize with regards to the com radios.

gRefCom1= XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit/radios/com1_freq_hz");
gRefCom2= XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit/radios/com2_freq_hz");
gRefCom1Fail = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/operation/failures/rel_nav1");
gRefCom2Fail = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/operation/failures/rel_nav2");
gRefComSelector = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit/switches/audio_panel_out");
gRefCom1Power = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com1_power");
gRefCom2Power = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/com2_power");
gRefCom1Receive = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/audio_selection_com1");
gRefCom2Receive = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/audio_selection_com2");
gRefAvionicsMaster = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit/electrical/avionics_on");

gRefMasterVolume = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/operation/sound/radio_volume_ratio"); //XP10.30
gRefCom1Volume = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/audio_volume_com1"); //XP10.50
gRefCom2Volume = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/radios/actuators/audio_volume_com2"); //XP10.50

gRefBusVoltage = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/cockpit2/electrical/bus_volts"); //array (we use the first bus, index 0)
gRefMaxVoltage = XPLMFindDataRef("sim/aircraft/limits/max_bat_volt_standard");

Most functions are obvious, here the ones that are not:
gRefComSelector: which radio is selected for transmitting (6 is COM1, 7 is COM2)
gRefCom1Power: is the com1 radio powered up?
gRefCom2Power: is the com2 radio powered up?
gRefCom1Receive: is the com1 radio selected for receiving audio?
gRefCom2Receive: is the com2 radio selected for receiving audio?

It's important to note that com1 and com2 can be selected for receiving at the same time (they are separate datarefs), or NEITHER can be selected, technically. However, at any given time, either com1 or com2 WILL be selected for transmitting.
joomie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:49 am

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by joomie »

Many thanks @Keith, that was really quick! Will further investigate that hopefully this weekend.
Feedback will follow.

Cheers,
joomie
X-Plane 11.00pb3, Win 10 (64bit), ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING, Intel Core i7 6700K@4.5 GHz, Inno3D iChill GTX 1080 X3 (no OC), 32GB DDR4 RAM, ASUS Strix SOAR sound card, 1.25 TB SSD, SAMSUNG SUHD 55'' TV 3840x2160, TrackIR5.4.2
FDXDave
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by FDXDave »

I'm also a beta tester of the FF A320. I'm a little confused about the comm instruction you have on the PE set up forum.
It says to set the PTT to CONTACT ATC . Then right under that it says to tune into the freq then transmit.
But it then says to see the thread about setting the comm radios to properly transmit. And Keith uses an example of
Left ctrl key for comm 1 and right ctrl key for comm 2. He also says
"Many custom aircraft audio panels do NOT toggle this setting correctly.". Which is why you set the radio to tx.
So in the end my question is what is the difference between setting contact atc and setting comm 1 to tx ?
I wonder because randomly my computer is crashing ( blue screen ) after i push the ptt for contact atc.
So im curious if the A320 is set up wrong.
FDXDave
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by FDXDave »

"A value of "6" on the right side (the COM column) means COM1 is active for transmitting. A value of "7" means COM2 is active for transmitting."

So I turned on the COMM Freq monitor for today's flight and noticed, the far right did not display any kind of value. 6 or 7
I have my PTT on my Yoke and set for Contact ATC.
I tried changing the PTT to Transmit audio com1, but that made no difference on the value.

The other test I did, was I attempted to tune Com 2 to the local ATIS Freq, which in other AC's, I can get the native XP ATC to read out the WTX. Com2 is totally dead.
No sound, or type.
Attachments
com1.png
com1.png (1.19 MiB) Viewed 8349 times
joomie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:49 am

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by joomie »

May you report that in the beta test forum too so that the devs of the FF A320 are aware of that, please?

Here is the according thread: https://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/f ... t-officer/
X-Plane 11.00pb3, Win 10 (64bit), ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING, Intel Core i7 6700K@4.5 GHz, Inno3D iChill GTX 1080 X3 (no OC), 32GB DDR4 RAM, ASUS Strix SOAR sound card, 1.25 TB SSD, SAMSUNG SUHD 55'' TV 3840x2160, TrackIR5.4.2
FDXDave
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by FDXDave »

joomie wrote:May you report that in the beta test forum too so that the devs of the FF A320 are aware of that, please?

Here is the according thread: https://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?/f ... t-officer/
Yes np.
Bob Denny
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:20 pm

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by Bob Denny »

I encountered a similar problem in the X-Trident Bell 412, and while doing the LF Range Experience package I ran into multiple problems with audio panels. On the 412, both COM1 and COM2 audio switches are hard-wired to ON, yet you can hear audio only on the one selected for transmit. Strange because all of the nav radio switches work. I had to add a button on my cyclic to toggle the COM1/COM2 audio so I could listen to ATIS while monitoring Tower or Approach while inbound, etc.

I have reported this to X-Trident. The right way for these audio panels to work for COM is for the transmit selector to force you to hear the radio selected for transmit, and for the audio switches to let you turn the unselected one(s) on and off.

PS: @FDXDave - It's hilarious that you display icing data... did you pick up a load of ice and crash once?
FDXDave
Posts: 202
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:56 pm

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by FDXDave »

It's hilarious that you display icing data... did you pick up a load of ice and crash once?
You nailed it Bob. I sure did. I was in my Beech 1900D a while back. And I was sinking and could not regain altitude. I
was flying over the Denver area Mountains. I never experienced icing conditions before, so on that trip I crashed lol.
once I crashed XP displayed the reason for the crash, and I was like "OH" lol
But never again. I am always looking at those monitors lol. I was more of a rookie then anyway.
As for the Coms I learned yesterday, the A320 has a RX button for the com 2 that I have to activate by pushing it on.
Most planes in my hanger are wired like the one you have and I can monitor both radios
without doing anything. But the FF A320 tries to make it as real as possible. So now I know how to fix that too. Always learning...
joomie
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:49 am

Re: Specification of the Pilotedge plugin

Post by joomie »

No, the radio 2 of the FF A320 does not work.

When you dial the same frequency for VHF 1 on both radio management panels (RMP) on the pedestal,
switch off the rx on audio control panel (ACP) 1, switch on the rx on ACP 2:
You will not hear anything.

Here is the evidence, I made a video on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btYLL71annM

What I do there:
On both RMPs the same (I think it was KLAX) frequencies for VHF 1 and VHF 1 active.
On both ACPs the receiver on.
Wait till somebody is transmitting something on the frequency.
Toggle the receiver on ACP 1 and keep the receiver of ACP 2 on.
Rest as shown in the video...
X-Plane 11.00pb3, Win 10 (64bit), ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING, Intel Core i7 6700K@4.5 GHz, Inno3D iChill GTX 1080 X3 (no OC), 32GB DDR4 RAM, ASUS Strix SOAR sound card, 1.25 TB SSD, SAMSUNG SUHD 55'' TV 3840x2160, TrackIR5.4.2
Post Reply