Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby bbuckley » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:25 pm

Happened tonight again. Carenado Bonanza, seconds after connecting to PE the mixture went to cutoff. I started back up and seconds later happened again. Started one more time and flew a short test flight out of KCRQ and everything stayed OK. I don't know if it's a Carenado thing or a PE thing. I've reinstalled and tonight I installed the update.
Commercial / Instrument / KMLB
bbuckley
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:30 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby pkofman » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:29 am

bbuckley wrote:Happened tonight again. Carenado Bonanza, seconds after connecting to PE the mixture went to cutoff. I started back up and seconds later happened again. Started one more time and flew a short test flight out of KCRQ and everything stayed OK. I don't know if it's a Carenado thing or a PE thing. I've reinstalled and tonight I installed the update.


which part did you reinstall. It happened to me again last night but In the acclaim.
Yesterday I flew offline in p3d 3 and 4 with the same carenado planes and I never had this issue
something is weird in the pe environment . please advise per my questions if possible
thank you
Peter
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby Keith Smith » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:07 am

This was reported to us a long time ago by Ryan Butterworth, another P3D user and PE member. If Carenado aircraft are loaded as up as AI, they have a 'feature' which kills the mixture (for reasons I don't understand, you'd need to ask them). This will only occur if you encounter an aircraft on the network which effectively maps to the Carenado aircraft. As suggested, you should be able to go to the PE client, browse the mappings and take out the Carenado aircraft. That way, the PE client won't try to load them.

I imagine pretty much the same thing would happen with vPilot on VATSIM if you have the same mappings loaded.
Keith Smith
 
Posts: 9637
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Pompton Plains, NJ

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby bbuckley » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:26 am

Thanks. I guess the client auto scans and put the Carenado models that are in SimObjects in the Advanced section. I now disabled the Carenado aircraft from there.
Commercial / Instrument / KMLB
bbuckley
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:30 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby pkofman » Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:36 pm

Bbuckley. Peter here.... did you delete the sim object completely from the aircraft folder. Or just disable as per Keith’s comment in map
Inns. Let me know how it goes. I will report back as well. Peter
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby bbuckley » Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:42 pm

Peter, I just disabled by unchecking all the Carenado airplanes in the Settings - Model Matching - Advanced section. The most likely path is the SimObjects path identified there.

I flew tonight and had no issues at all, can't be sure if that's because I fixed it or just didn't run into any traffic that would have used those models. But I'm pretty sure it's solved.
Bruce
Commercial / Instrument / KMLB
bbuckley
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 4:30 pm
Location: Jupiter, FL

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby pkofman » Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:19 pm

I did the same, all good so far on my end but ill test a little more. Its a bit creepy that Carenado has that much control to be able to disable aircraft via ICO. Probably worried about licensing and theft . I don't blame them for that part but it is interesting how they wrote code that is so protectionist. thank you
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby pkofman » Mon Jan 14, 2019 7:19 am

I followed the instructions from Keith and deleted all Carenado references in the pe client for AI . I was able to successfully fly an Ifr flight last night that was over 1.5 hours in length in the Carenado Ovation with no Mixture cut off.
It seemed to have worked. Thanks all
Peter Kofman
Real World Pilot
1000hrs
VFR VFROTT
Night and Water./FLOATS AMPHIB..
Mooney BRAVO TLS M20M
pkofman
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:35 am
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby Aviatorbja » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:23 pm

This has been happening to me every time I fly the maddogX md82. It was driving me crazy because setting up that plane is very time-consuming. I will try deleting the carenado references tomorrow and see what happens.

Let me get this straight, if I use PE model matching to map an AI aircraft to one of the carenado aircraft that I OWN for p3-D, it’s going to disable the mixtures on my Leonardo MD 82? This makes no sense.
Brian Andonian
R/W: SEL, Commercial, CFI (expired)
Flight sim: Lancair Legacy, Turbine Duke N723BA
Aviatorbja
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 8:24 pm
Location: Plymouth, MI - USA

Re: Mixture cutting off when running PE Client

Postby Shawn Goldsworthy » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:40 pm

As odd as it sounds, it's correct. Carenado seems to have an issue with their planes being used as 3D models other than when you are flying that particular plane. So there seems to be some code built in there to send a command to cut the mixture. It's definitely nothing on PE's end.
Shawn Goldsworthy
PilotEdge ATCS
Image
Shawn Goldsworthy
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:23 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Prepar3D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron