Frequency Cheat Sheets?

Ryan Landis

Frequency Cheat Sheets?

Post by Ryan Landis »

Just had a question about dep/app frequencies in regards to the TAC and sectional. I am new to PE and love it so far. I have been self educating myself on VFR procedures and ATC interactions with the help of PEs training program and the AOPAs online interactive courses(which I HIGHLY recommend). Since I am relatively new to VFR planning,I take a good bit of time to look at the Lax TAC and plot my route and jot down frequencies. This is where I run into issues, the chart can be pretty confusing as to who to contact in the Class C sectors. The bravo is easy as there is only 1 main freq. (134. 9), but the class c is where I trip up in planning. Normally I just request flight following for the frequency hand offs, but would like to be self sufficient in knowing who to contact and what their freq is. I found a Zla cheat sheet on the laartc website, but most freqs don't match the real charts. Anyone have some tips for planning or deciphering the freq list on the charts? I see the freqs and the altitude ranges and what looks like a direction of flight(ie. 300-045). Is there an easier to read map with less clutter depicting the different class c/e zones and who to call? Any tips would be appreciated! Thanks.

Ryan Landis
N119ST
Ryan Landis
Twitch Account: http://www.twitch.tv/herkchief
"When you walk like an egyptian, its time to switch NAVs" - Socrates
Keith Smith

Re: Frequency Cheat Sheets?

Post by Keith Smith »

Ryan,

Great question. My impression is that you're making far too much work for yourself. Pre-flight planning is good, but there's simply no operational need to research the likely enroute frequencies that you'll get for the entire flight. It's good to understand what's likely to happen, practically speaking, for a typical XC flight, and then plan accordingly.