Basic VFR Landmarks for X-Plane

Calvin Waterbury

Basic VFR Landmarks for X-Plane

Post by Calvin Waterbury »

I have removed the file due to the number of errors it was generating in the "log.txt" file.

I was provoked by a part of a discussion about the VFR aspects of X-Plane. I am just beginning to learn how to make scenery and I have given this topic some thought. I think I can make facsimiles of the landmarks, but time will tell. I believe it would be a long-term project to try and VFR-ify X-Plane, but as I work through it in my mind I have some questions. For instance...
  • Would a stadium, golf course, etc. really be that helpful without the surroundings?
  • Since real world architecture is very unique would things like differences in colors, shapes, designs of the generic models (which would not look exactly like the original) be acceptable or would you look out the window, see the generic "stadium" object and be miffed because it is blue and gray as opposed to the real red and green?
  • Would the inconsistencies between a "stadium," etc. and the default ground textures be acceptable?
  • Would a "stretched" stadium object be acceptable as a "race track?"
Keep in mind any sceneries I can concoct would be based on library objects. I am no where near able to produce custom 3D objects.

Are there any other considerations?

[Disclaimer - I am only working in X-Plane 9.70 at present, but I believe XP10 has backward compatibility for basic objects. I don't own XP10, so I don't know for sure.]
Last edited by Calvin Waterbury on Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:52 pm, edited 7 times in total.
Windows 8.1 (64)
ASUS 17" Laptop
2.4 GHz I7-4700HQ CPU
8 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M
1 TB HDD
Cyrus

Re: Basic VFR Landmarks for X-Plane

Post by Cyrus »

Thanks for picking this up, Calvin. I'll be following this thread too :)