Help with new machine for XP10

Jeff N

Help with new machine for XP10

Post by Jeff N »

I've been wanting to get a new machine to run XP10 for a while and I think I'm ready to pull the trigger. I've been using XP9 on a 2010 Macbook Pro 15" for a couple years now and it's time to upgrade (and I don't want to burn up my laptop with simming since I rely on it for work).

Is it possible to get a decent PC rig to run XP10 at medium-to-high settings for around $1k, 27" monitor and all? If so, what would such a system consist of? Can I just buy a ready-made machine or do I need to cherry pick components and build one? I've been reading threads on this subject here and on "the org" but as someone who knows little about computer hardware I'm a bit lost. And I thought I'd ask here since it's a much more friendly place than that other site...

Thanks for any advice!
Keith Smith

Re: Help with new machine for XP10

Post by Keith Smith »

quad core, overclock as much as you can with an off the shelf water cooler.

then. get as much video card as you can afford at that point..
Pieces

Post by Pieces »

If you are familiar with reddit, I've heard that /r/buildapc is a great place to go for building advice. $1000 dollars should be reasonable for a computer able to handle XP 10. As Keith noted, you'll be best served by getting as beefy a CPU as you can manage, with GPU next in priority.

I think you'll get the best value for the money by building. Though, adding a monitor and Windows license may stretch that a bit. Of course, X-Plane does run on Linux so you don't have to get a Windows license.
Reece Heinlein, PPL - IR, KMZZ
PilotEdge I-11
Alphabet Challenge
Jeff N

Post by Jeff N »

Thanks guys. But...I don't even know what overclock means, or how to gauge video cards, etc. That's how hardware illiterate I am. I was thinking of going with a high end iMac but the price (2x my budget) and lack of upgradability (once I learn how to do so) make that a less than attractive option.