Flying a radial with the 430?

djrisc

Flying a radial with the 430?

Post by djrisc »

Hello,
So I'm starting to beat away the cobwebs from being away from sim flying for so long.

One question I have is when flying IFR, if you get a route via the controller that contains radials, how do you program that in X-Planes 430? Can you even enter in a radial? (It doesn't seem like you can.)

So for example:
+SLI V23 POPPR SMO125 SMO SMO317 CANOG

Would I just enter my flightplan in as:
SLI
POPPR
SMO
CANOG
KVNY

and then switch to OBS mode on the SMO leg?

Just trying to figure out the proper way of doing things as I have limited 430 experience.

Thanks!
Brett Johnson
Los Angeles, CA.
PE: Skyhawk C172 - N8979T
Keith Smith

Re: Flying a radial with the 430?

Post by Keith Smith »

On any given leg, you need to determine if you're going to fly using VOR or GPS for the course guidance. The Garmin 430 unit has a GPS receiver as well as a VOR receiver. You can use the CDI button to swap between GPS and VOR mode.

Your flight plan in the GPS is fine. In this case, direct legs between those fixes matches the ground track of the cleared route. So, there's no need for OBS mode (which allows you to dial in a desired course to a fix, rather than the direct course from the previous fix), or the CDI mode to swap to the course guidance from the VOR receiver in the 430.

It gets more tricky when the cleared route involve doglegs that don't have named fixes. the SMO125R to V64 is a good example of this.
djrisc

Post by djrisc »

Thanks for the quick and very helpful reply Keith! I'll give it another go tonight using CDI in VOR mode on those legs to get used to it.

Thanks again!

Brett
Brett Johnson
Los Angeles, CA.
stevekirks

Post by stevekirks »

Quick question:

I've scoured instructions but can't find a way to load a FP from disk into the GNS430. Is that because there *isn't* a way to do that?
Steve Kirks (sKirks on Twitch)
KSGF--I-10 rated
Student Pilot