What a great training program

Questions and comments about the PE Pilot Training Program
flyerdaviduk

What a great training program

Post by flyerdaviduk »

I've just worked my way through both the CAT and IFR training programs in recent weeks and wanted to say how useful and worthwhile I thought they are. Thanks to all those who've developed and operate such a useful service.

I am a UK based real-world pilot with a US Airman's certificate including IR. I've flown mostly VFR in several US states on holiday including California. My knowledge to date has mainly been from reading various books/guides and the 2 hour Flight Review required before hiring an aircraft. I've flown several of the flights in the series in the real world, such as Camarillo to John Wayne, landing at San Diego, San Luis, Santa Maria, San Bernadino etc. It brought back some great memories of the time spent there, just how supportive ATC and the aviation environment is there.

The features of the system take a little time getting used to, such as the same controller handling multiple airports and frequencies, but does add to the busy nature of many ATC frequencies. The pace of instructions given, delays in getting a word at times etc. do match the real world and increase the stress levels at times. I particularly liked the fact you had thought about being able to bypass real-world weather using Information Zulu and have had to use that several times during these winter months. The web based support is great, including the associated myFlightRoute.com, online ATIS pages and PEaware flight log. The operational support has been consistent, with controllers manning every station 7 days a week. Sometimes they get a bit overloaded, other times it seems very quiet. It must be hard to match capacity with demand, just like the real world.

I will certainly make use of this before my next trip to the US (whenever that might be possible) and recommend to others.