When do I change frq?

ianbennett

When do I change frq?

Post by ianbennett »

Hi,

I just completed my first flight on PE. It is fantastic, my stress level was so high, and my please also.

Down to my question: When should I change frq? In real life I am a VFR pilot in France, never flyer in the US.

Let's take an example and maybe someone can answer to me in each case:

1) I contact clearance, get my clearance. Will I be instructed to contact Grd to start up or should I switch to Grd by myself.
2) I contact Grd request startup, taxi to the holding point, when at the holding point should I switch to tower or wait for Grd to hand me over.
3) I contact twr, line up take off, should I switch to dep. or what for tower to hand me over.
4) I contact dep. fly up and away. Ddo I switch to centre or wait for dep. to hand me over.
5) Same question from centre to Arrival.
6) Same from Arr to Twr
7) I land exit the rwy, should I switch to Grd or first inform twr that the rwy is vacated and what for twr to hand me over to Grd.
8) I contact Grd taxi to ramp, during this taxi Grd says: " taxi to ramp, and have a nice day", when at the ramp do I call back Grd to confirm I will leave the frq or is it not necessary.

Thank you very much for your answers, from my experience in most cases I am to what for the tower to hand me over but I had the impression that I should have switch frq myself more often.

Regards,

Ian Bennett
Steven Winslow

Re: When do I change frq?

Post by Steven Winslow »

As I understand and have learned by doing the ZLA ratings flights, these are the answers to your questions:
ianbennett wrote: 1) I contact clearance, get my clearance. Will I be instructed to contact Grd to start up or should I switch to Grd by myself. You contact Ground on your own. You will not be told to switch to Ground.